Windows Management Instrumentation [WMI]

Well, it seems I have frigged-up my WMI somehow. Some of the .dlls are missing. So, for the past 2 days, I have been trying to find a fix on the Knowledge Base at Microsoft.com. The link to reinstall WMI is missing from the site…@#$%^&…I’ve tried several steps listed…and it looks like the only alternative is to repair Windows. Which, if I’m not mistaken will more than likely turn into a format, since the OEM on my Dell is XP SP1. It tells me it can’t make a repair of Windows since I’m running SP2? If anyone has any suggestions, I’d be more than happy to consider pointers. I’ve formatted hard drives before, no big deal, and I know I’m seriously due for one, but, jeez, it can be such an undertaking. Burning backup data is tiresome, plus I have to make sure I have everything the girls want to keep, as well. Just not something I wanted to do on my days off. I’m considering going out and getting a little external drive to put the music, pics, email, faves, etc. on, then I won’t have to worry ’bout burning anything…just drag-n-drop. ‘Course I could put Windows on the new external too, couldn’t I? Then just boot from there? Nah, I ‘d probably end up takin’ it with me [keep it portable] a bunch of the time, so that’s out.

Anyway………I suppose I should see how much data this is going to turn into first…I’ve gotten a shitload of new music, though…back to buying a little hard drive…ho hum. So, bear with me, patient reader, for the next couple of days while I consider how best to do this. Wish I had balls enough to format and put Vista on…heh heh…but this is my main desktop we’re talkin’ ’bout here…

Oh, I guess I should explain how I found out it was the WMI part of Windows…I was trying to install Max but it kept stopping the installation while trying to install the .NET Framework 3.0. So, after FAQs and troubleshooting and trying to install in safe mode and not succeeding, I found something that pointed to the WMI stuff. Alas and alack, I ran a WMI diagnostics tool and there it was…corrupt or missing files.

SIDENOTE: “The Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 (formerly known as WinFX), is the new managed code programming model for Windows.”

Really…that’s very interesting…the doomed WinFX that I have been wondering about…should prove to be some interesting research when I get around to it…

Leave a Reply

