…a computer fantasy…

My daughter and I were looking through Electronic Gaming Monthly this morning. That’s all it took for us to continue dreaming of a world where I could afford a $5000, top-of-the-line, next generation, piece of machinery on steroids. I mean, seriously, who doesn’t want a dual-core, dual GPU with SLI technology, and all the bells and whistles to go with? Dual drives, dual hard drive RAID setup, not to mention 8.1 digital audio out and a 30 inch widescreen monitor….[Brenda drools and her eyeballs roll back in her head]. Whew, I think I need to be liquid-cooled!

But, before I run away with this fantasy, I should remind myself that I am an extremely blessed individual. My desktop is a 3 gig pentium 4 w/ HT, 128 meg NVidia, 120 gig of hard drive space, CDRW, DVD-ROM, floppy [what is that…lol], 5.1 audio, and a 19 inch CRT. And I’ve never had a lick of trouble doing anything I needed to do…multi-tasking is my forte. Gaming has been great…oh, and I have a gig of RAM. God is Good. So, why the fantasy? I guess a girl gotta dream, is all. Why don’t I dream of a Hummer or a Porsche? Or a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, 2-car garage of my very own? [I rent] Or, and this is a stretch, a love of my own? [since I’m recently unattached] Am I really that much of a geek? Why is it that I wait so impatiently for the new Playstation 3? I really have some strange priorities.

But, you’ll be happy to know I have other fantasies as well. Travel is one of them. More on that at a later time.

Leave a Reply

