Brenda's Basics

Carving a niche…just the basics…

Windows Live homepage

Am I the only one who thinks Windows Live.com is clunkier-than-hell? Half the time, the modules won’t load, or they are hard to configure. And, in my opinion, it’s just ugly…plain and simple. Yes, I know it’s still in “beta”, but, jeez, how long do I have to wait for bugs? It’s been online now for some time and I’ve been trying to personalize it with gadgets provided; however, I think I’ve had enough…I’m done. Either a product works, or it doesn’t. Many of my friends or the average Joe Blow internet-user would have given-up by now. It’s just not worth my time anymore tryin’ to figure it out.

live.jpg

Why should I? When Netvibes is so much cooler? It’s the same homepage-type, AJAXy, open API, feedreader module kinda thang. But there’s one major difference…it actually works, and it looks good. I’ve noticed a couple of problems, but those have been with the actual coding on some of the open-source modules. So I don’t use those. And I still have plenty of options to choose from. Let’s put it this way: I have spent much less time figuring-out how to personalize my page on Netvibes than I have on Live. So much difference, in fact, that I’m wondering if everyone hasn’t had the same experiences with this as I have? I’m just playing devil’s advocate here…I’ll betcha the average net-surfer will find that Netvibes is more user-friendly, in other words. Isn’t that what it’s all about, afterall?
netvibes.jpg

So, tell me what you think…….

August 6, 2006 - Posted by | Blogroll, General Musings, Web 2.0

2 Comments »

  1. I really don’t like live.com too, that’s what you said modules won’t load. I prefer netvibes between live.com and netvibes. But actually I use http://www.pageflakes.com , because there are some advantages such as shared page and skins.
    And there are many other nice services on the web 2.0 like flickR.com , box.net, writely, and thousands of more of them.

    Comment by James S. | August 6, 2006 | Reply

  2. I’ll checkout pageflakes….one I haven’t tried yet…

    Comment by brendasbasics | August 6, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

